

MINUTES OF THE 83rd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF CYCLING NEW ZEALAND FEDERATION INC (TRADES AS CYCLING NEW ZEALAND ROAD & TRACK CNZR&T) held on 22 MAY 2016 AT THE WAIPUNA LODGE, AUCKLAND

The meeting commenced at 9:00am.

Steve Canny, President, chaired the meeting.

1. ROLL CALL

CNZ R&T COUNCIL

CNZ R&T LIFE MEMBERS

Stephen Canny (President) Steve Hurring Graham Bunn Erin Criglington Brian Roulston Ivan Aplin Garry Bell Mark Ireland Bruce Goldsworthy Graham Sycamore

NORTHLAND

TASMAN

AUCKLAND Kelvin McAnulty Martin Thompson Andy McKay Jan Carol (non-voting)

CANTERBURY Hamish Fergusson

MID SOUTH CANTERBURY

WAIKATO/BOP Graeme Bell Steven Pawley

OTAGO Paula Hasler

SOUTHLAND Lindsay Jordan Mark Hatton

WEST COAST NORTH ISLAND

EAST COAST NORTH ISLAND

WELLINGTON

Cycling New Zealand Road & Track - 2016 Annual General Meeting Minutes

GUESTS

Janette Douglas – Cycling New Zealand Faye Christensen – Cycling New Zealand Andrew Matheson – Cycling New Zealand

Tony Mitchell – Cycling NZ Board Brian Broad- Cycling NZ Board David Bennett - Cycling NZ Board Jenny Gibbs - Cycling NZ Board Alison Shanks – Cycling NZ Board

VOTING STRENGTH: Declared at 19

2. APOLOGIES

Ron Cheatley Bev May John McDonnell Mike Sim

Motion that apologies be accepted

Graeme Bell/Steve Hurring CARRIED

Motion that visitors have speaking rights including all Cycling New Zealand guests Steve Canny/Ivan Aplin Carried

3. MARK OF RESPECT

The President asked all present to stand and observe a moment of silence for those members and associates who passed.

2015 - Barbara Levido Howe, Gordon Sharrock, Stewart Chilton, Leonard Peters

4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The minutes of the 82nd Annual General Meeting held in Christchurch on the 24th May 2015 have been previously circulated and affirmed by Council on 31 August 2015. The minutes were circulated along with the agenda.

Ivan Aplin / Brian Roulston Carried

5. MATTERS ARISING

All matters raised have been addressed during forums over the weekend.

6. PRESIDENTS REPORT

The President, Steve Canny, read his report and spoke to several items in it.

Motion that the President's Report be accepted.

Ivan Aplin/Steve Hurring Carried

7. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Paula Hasler spoke on behalf of the Otago Club's nomination of Steve Hurring for President.

Ivan Aplin spoke in support of Mike Sim being nominated as Vice President in the absence of Wellington Club.

Graham Bell spoke on behalf of the Waikato & BOP Clubs nomination for Graham Bunn as the North Island delegate.

The following candidates were unanimously elected.

PRESIDENT	Steve Hurring (Otago)
VICE PRESIDENT	Mike Sim (Wellington)
ISLAND DELEGATES	
North Island	Graham Bunn (Waikato BOP)
South Island	No nomination

Motion that Jan Carol and Andrew Matheson be scrutineers

Steve Hurring / Brian Roulston Carried

Motion that the voting papers (election of officers and Life membership) be destroyed

Steve Canny/Erin Criglington Carried

Mr Canny thanked the Council for their support over the past year.

9. LIFE MEMBERSHIP

Garry Bell was nominated and elected for life membership at yesterday's meeting.

10. PATRON

Bruce Goldsworthy was nominated by Council as Patron.

Steve Canny spoke on behalf of the Council in support of Bruce Goldsworthy as the nomination for Patron.

Motion That Bruce Goldsworthy be appointed as Patron of CNZ Road & Track.

Steve Canny/Ivan Aplin Carried Bruce Goldsworthy accepted his appointment and responded to the delegates.

Garry Bell responded to Bruce Goldsworthy and congratulated him on his appointment.

11. AWARDS

Steve Canny noted that CNZ R&T & CNZ have awarded the following athlete awards

for

2015:

Female Road Cyclist of the Year – Linda Villumsen Male Road Cyclist of the Year – Dion Smith Junior Female Road Cyclist of the Year – Hannah Gumbley Junior Male Road Cyclist of the Year – Sam Dobbs

Female Track Cyclist of the Year – Jaime Nielsen Male Track Cyclist of the Year – Eddie Dawkins Junior Female Track Cyclist of the Year – Bryony Botha Junior Male Track Cyclist of the Year – Campbell Stewart

Emerging Talent – Campbell Stewart

Motion that the Cyclist of the Year Awards be formally adopted

Ivan Aplin / Erin Criglington Carried

12. Remits

No remits were received.

13. Forum Discussion (held Saturday and summarised again at this meeting)

Traffic Management Presentation – Ivan Aplin gave an update on the recent changes and dedicated section for events in the code of practices for Temporary Traffic Management (CoPTTM). It was suggested that Centres and clubs forward any traffic management comments / issues directly to Ivan Aplin, who will investigate and escalate where appropriate, to the correct authorities

The links for further information regarding traffic management are: <u>http://www.nzta.govt.nz/resources/code-temp-traffic-management/section-i-specific-activity-procedures-and-diagrams/#I3</u>

Road Championships – Discussion was held at yesterday's forum regarding the merits or otherwise of possibly including the Under 19 races as part of the Elite/U23 Champs. Also discussed were the Masters events and how to encourage greater participation in those grades. Feedback from the discussions will form part of a wider review of all our Road Championships, to take place over the next 6 to 12 months.

Track Points Trophy – Discussion relating to the Points Shield, it's purpose, how the points are accumulated and how it should be awarded in the future. One option was to establish separate trophies, rather than having one trophy across multiple championships as at present. This could be: Junior – U15 & U17

Elite – U19 & U23 & Elite Masters – Masters

The Events panel will review the matter with CNZ, taking into account the feedback provided at the forum.

Health & Safety – Presented at Saturdays Forum, touching on the various implications of the new legislation. A number of useful recommendations were provided by CNZ, for both clubs that employ staff and for those that are purely volunteer managed – notes will be circulated to all clubs and centres.

Membership Working Group – CNZ provided the Membership Working Group with an update on Saturday. Stephen Canny gave the meeting a brief outline of the proposal being discussed, which is based around a more simple membership / licencing structure, the ability to register non-riding club volunteers, being able to licence earlier for next year's licence and a more evolved membership database.

The Working Group will be providing feedback on the proposals to CNZ, with a view to the changes being implanted for the coming relicensing period.

Regional Performance Hub development and implementation timetable – Graeme Hunn provided an update at yesterday's CNZ presentation session. The WBOP Hub is underway, one is under development in Southland and the target is to have 7 to 8 hubs underway over the next 24 months.

Anti-Match Fixing Policy – Sport NZ are requiring all NSO's to establish and implement an Anti-Match Fixing Policy. Cycling New Zealand will liaise with the CNZR&T Council once a draft policy has been drafted.

Communication – Garry Bell spoke to the AGM regarding a meeting with Andrew Matheson held yesterday, discussing communication lines between clubs, centres, Road and Track Council and Cycling New Zealand.

People are unsure who to contact regarding general matters.

A discussion was had regarding communication with our members and it was decided a communication strategy should be developed.

It was also suggested a flow chart of the structure of the Cycling New Zealand organisation, member organisations and clubs and centres be circulated to all clubs and centres and perhaps be available on the website.

13.0 2017 AGM Venue

Date and Venue will be formally advised by Cycling New Zealand in the near future.

14.0 CLOSURE

Ivan Aplin thanked Steve Canny for his efforts as President of the CNZR&T Council over the last year and Steve Canny responded.

Meeting closed at 10:29am