

2019 Cycling New Zealand Road & Track Recognition Awards

The 2019 Cycling New Zealand Road & Track Recognition Awards were announced this week.

These annual awards were established by Cycling New Zealand Road & Track to recognise outstanding contribution to cycling in New Zealand.

Malayan Cup – Bryan Simmonds

This is considered Cycling New Zealand's Supreme Award and goes to Bryan to recognise his many years of contribution behind the scenes in support of cycling and in particular to athletes from club riders through to Elite National representatives.

Official of the Year – Erin Criglington

In recognition of the time and effort she has contributed as a Commissaire both at a national level and internationally.

Coach of the Year – Ross Machejefski

In recognition of the work and effort he has made with the New Zealand women's endurance track team through 2019.

Shona Smith Trophy – Andrew Williams

This is awarded to a person who has been instrumental in lifting the profile of women in the sport of cycling and this year goes to Andrew for his work with the Velo Project women's team.

Face of Cycling – Tom Scully

This award recognises his contribution to highlighting New Zealand cycling through his efforts in the 2019 Tour de France, with his prominent breakaway in the final stage.

Event of the Year – Gravel & Tar

This award recognises the continual improvements in presenting and delivery of New Zealand's only 1 day UCI race.

Volunteer of the Year – Darren Cuthbertson

This award recognises the work and effort you have made to further the sport of cycling in Mid-South Canterbury.

Long Service Award – Bruce Ross

In recognition of Bruce's 50-year involvement with cycling in Southland.

Female Masters Track Athlete of the Year – Penny Pawson

For winning the UCI Masters World Championship title

Male Masters Track Athlete of the Year – Colin Claxton

For winning the UCI Masters World Championship titles (yes plural!)

Male Masters Road Athlete of the Year – Gary Ferguson

For winning the UCI Masters World Championship title

On behalf of Cycling New Zealand and Cycling New Zealand Road & Track we congratulate all of this year's award winners.