

# MINUTES OF THE 14<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF CYCLING NEW ZEALAND

Venue: Waipuna Hotel, Auckland

21<sup>st</sup> May, 2017

Meeting commenced 11:04am

# 1. ATTENDANCE

# **Cycling New Zealand Board Members in attendance:**

- Simon Perry (Chair)
- Jenny Gibbs
- Malcolm Thomas
- Richard Leggat
- Alison Shanks
- Tony Mitchell
- Graham Sycamore
- Pete Roden

# Member Organisation Presidents/Representatives in attendance:

- Steve Hurring (Cycling New Zealand Road and Track President)
- Warren Boggiss (BMX NZ)
- Gil Peters (MTB NZ)
- Brynn Gilbertson (Cycling New Zealand Schools)

# **Cycling New Zealand Staff in Attendance**

- Andrew Matheson (Chief Executive)
- Julie Richards (Finance Manager)
- Faye Christensen (Executive Assistant)
- Janette Douglas (Events Manager)

# **AGM Attendance:**

- Total Attendance: 46
- A quorum as required by clause 25.13 of the Constitution was met.

# 2. APOLOGIES

Kevin Searle – Schools Cycling President

#### 3. CONFIRMATION OF ELIGIBILITY TO VOTE

The board noted that as per the Constitution, Clause 25.1 Eligibility to Vote: The following Members and persons are eligible to vote at a General Meeting in accordance with this Constitution:

- a. Member Organisations
- b. The Chairperson, but solely for the purposes of a casting vote (Rule 25.3)

25.2 Voting Entitlement – Member Organisations – Each Member Organisation shall be entitled to one (1) vote provided that the Member Organisation has complied with the requirements specified in the Constitution.

#### 4. CHAIRMAN'S WELCOME & REPORT

The Chair (Simon Perry) welcomed all attendees and asked for any General Business items.

Proposed Resolution: The Chair raised a motion for adoption of the 2016 AGM Minutes

Steve Hurring/Brynn Gilbertson

Carried

The Chair presented and spoke to his report and thanked the management team from Cycling New Zealand lead by Andrew Matheson for their huge efforts.

**Proposed Resolution**: It was moved that the Chairman's Report be adopted:

Steve Hurring / Brynn Gilbertson

Carried

Richard Leggat spoke on behalf of the board and thanked Graham Sycamore for his huge effort on the Cycling New Zealand Board and in cycling in general. Graham is retiring this year from the Board and was presented with a signed shirt in gratitude for his support. Graham Sycamore responded to Richards's comments and mentioned his biggest thrill on the Cycling New Zealand Board is how the whole sport has been turned around in the last few years. He is very proud to have played a part in this and is looking forward to putting his feet up and watching from the side line.

#### 5. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Tony Mitchell presented an overview of the Statements of Financial Performance and Financial Position and key elements of the Cycling New Zealand financials.

There were no questions from the floor.

**Proposed Resolution**: That the financial statements for the period 1 January – 31 December 2016 be adopted.

Steve Hurring / Brynn Gilbertson

Carried

#### 6. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

**Proposed Resolution**: That Crowe Horwath be reappointed as Cycling New Zealand Incorporated's auditors.

Brynn Gilbertson / Steve Hurring

Carried

#### 7. SPORT NEW ZEALAND'S REPORT

Matt McKerrow (Sport New Zealand National Partnership Manager) addressed the members and outlined the purpose of a National Partnership Manager.

Sport New Zealand's goals are not only to achieve medals via the national sporting organisations but also to provide a level of inspiration to the country through these performances. Participation is also a major priority and Matt noted that participation is currently declining in a lot of sports and it is pleasing to see that cycling is one which is not following that trend. Matt complimented the organisation on making the gains in the sponsorship arena which has traditionally proven challenging for all sports. Sport NZ are committed to building strong sustainable organisations. Matt finished by commending Andrew and the Board on what has been a very strong year in achievements both in the sport and financially.

# 8. APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINEERS

Matt McKerrow (Sport NZ) as the returning officer is to be appointed as the Scrutineer.

# 9. APPOINTMENT & ELECTION OF BOARD MEMBERS

Tony Mitchell advised the appointment process for the Appointed and Elected Board Member positions to be filled in 2017.

Simon Perry has resigned from the Cycling New Zealand Board after a considerable contribution to cycling in New Zealand. The Board Appointments Panel interviewed several applicants for this position and made the final decision that Stephen Barclay be appointed as the Appointed Board Member, for a term of four years. Tony Mitchell gave a brief biography of Stephen Barclay and commented that he has a very impressive CV and will be a great addition to the Cycling New Zealand Board.

Nominations were called for the vacant Elected Board Member position due to Graham Sycamore's term expiring. The meeting attendees were advised that the only nomination that had been received for this position was:

Ivan Aplin

Ivan presented an overview of his personal biography to the meeting.

**Voting Result**: Ivan Aplin was unanimously elected to the Cycling New Zealand Board for a term of four years expiring in 2021.

#### 10. REMITS

No remits were received

#### 11. GENERAL BUSINESS

Richard Leggat, on behalf of the Board, and Andrew Matheson, on behalf of Cycling New Zealand, thanked Simon Perry for his huge contribution not only on the board but also to the sport of cycling and his guidance and support on a personal level. Simon is an authentic leader and exceptionally professionally, he will be a loss to the board but his contribution has left it in a very strong position.

Simon responded by saying how much he has enjoyed his time on the Cycling New Zealand Board and is looking forward to now working with Swimming to help move them forward.

Meeting closed at 12:22pm