

2020 Cycling New Zealand Road & Track Recognition Awards

These awards were established by Cycling New Zealand Road & Track to recognise outstanding contribution to cycling in New Zealand.

Malayan Cup - Corbin Strong

This is considered Cycling New Zealand's Supreme Award. This year it was awarded to Corbin Strong for his all-round contribution to road and track through outstanding performances and as a superb role-model.

Shona Smith Trophy - Greasy Chain Charitable Trust

This was awarded to the Greasy Chain Charitable Trust for delivering an outstanding event that encourages and facilitates quality and competitive elite women's cycling.

Contribution to Cycling - Eddie Dawkins

In recognition of Eddie's outstanding track cycling career and his contribution to ambassadorship for track cycling and inspiring young athletes. Eddie is our most successful track cycling and is always a crowd favourite.

Contribution to Cycling – Stephen Cox

In recognition of Stephen's significant time, effort and commitment to the sport of cycling and its organisation. Over the years Stephen has been a talented elite rider, National coach, Team manager, event organiser, and has held positions on club and centre committees.

Contribution to Cycling – Terry Gyde

In recognition of Terry's coaching achievements and mentorship of athletes from junior to mast age groups on both the road and track, over many years.

Para cycling Rider of the Year – Emma Foy and Hannah van Kampen

This award recognises the outstanding efforts of the world class pair of Emma Foy and Hannah van Kampen. Emma currently holds two World Championship titles with her sighted pilot Hannah in the Women's B IP (in track) and Women's B road race.

Para cycling Emerging Talent - Devon Briggs

In recognition of Devon's outstanding results at the Waikato track cycling Champs in December 2020, Devon is one to watch. Being just 13 days too young to qualify for the Tokyo Paralympics, he is aiming for the UCI Para cycling Track World Champs and then the Paralympics in Paris, 2024.

Para cycling Coach of the Year - Damian Wiseman

This is awarded to Damian in recognition of his work in high performance sport for over ten years, known for always putting the interests of his riders first.

Volunteer of the Year - Nick Warren

For his phenomenal effort and time spent driving and securing funding and support for the resurfacing of the Wellington track.

Coach of the Year - Tammy Harvey

For her outstanding contribution to the international and national successes of Niamh Fisher-Black, Mikayla Harvey and Reuben Thompson to name a few.

Team of the Year - Team Skoda Fruzio

For their contribution to the development and support of young athletes and providing the start of a pathway for juniors in road cycling.

Male Masters Cyclist of the Year - Stephen Woods

Stephen is not just recognised for his performances on the track but for being a hugely respected and valued member of Canterbury Track Cycling, who always goes above and beyond.

Female Maters Cyclist of the Year - Penny Pawson

For her success in both road and track, including several national titles.

On behalf of Cycling New Zealand Road & Track and Cycling New Zealand we congratulate all of this year's award winners.