The much anticipated Tokyo Olympic Games will see a 20 cyclists join the record 211-strong New Zealand Team representing the country on the world stage.

New Zealand is represented in four cycling disciplines, ensuring plenty of action to watch for the duration of the games.


Follow the New Zealand Team in Tokyo by downloading the NZ Team app here.

Sky Sport is the Official Broadcaster for New Zealand and their full schedule can be found here.

Road Cycling

The men's road race will kick off the cycling events for this years Olympic Games on Saturday 24 July with Patrick Bevin and George Bennett lining up to represent New Zealand.

The 244km course begins in Tokyo's Musashinonomori Park and will see athletes tackle over 4800m of climbing before they reach Fuji International Speedway. 

Mount Fuji is perhaps the most iconic climb in the race, coming after 140km though the much steeper Mikuni Pass will ensure even the best climbers are put to the test. The final climb over Kagosaka Pass with 12km to go will be the final test in the run in to the speedway.

After a brief recovery both Bevin and Bennett will contest the individual time trial with bother riders taking on two laps of the 22.1km course beginning at the Fuji International Speedway on Wednesday.


Key Dates:

Men's Road Race Saturday 24 July 2:00pm NZST

Men's Individual Time Trial Wednesday 28 July 5:00pm NZST


There are no women representing New Zealand in the Road Cycling events

Mountain Bike - Cross Country

After making it's debut at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, Mountain Bike Cross-Country (MTB XCO) has continued to be a hotly contested and exciting fixture of the Games. 

Anton Cooper will take on the 4100m Izu Mountain Bike Course, located two hours southwest of Tokyo. 

The men's cross-country race starts at 6pm on Monday 26 July with more than 150m of climbing over short, sharp climbs, steep drops and technical rock gardens in each lap.

The general consensus is that the technical nature of the course, combined with the hot July weather will make it one of the hardest Olympic courses yet.


Key Dates:

Men's Mountain Bike Cross-Country 26 July 6:00pm NZST


There are no women representing New Zealand in the MTB events

BMX Racing

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will play host to the fourth ever BMX Race event after it's debut at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Rebecca Petch will line up at the gate atop the 8m high, 35-degree start hill to jostle for a position over the 400m course.

There will be 24 competitors in the women's event with six competing in each of the four heats over three rounds. 

The top sixteen riders from the first round will progress to the semi-final with the top eight from that round progressing to the finals.


Key Dates:

Women's BMX Racing (Quarterfinals) Thursday 29 July 1:21pm NZST
(Run 1 - 1:21pm, Run 2 - 2:03pm, Run 3 - 2:45pm)

Women's BMX Racing (Semi-finals and Finals) Friday 30 July 1:15pm NZST
(Run 1 - 1:15pm, Run 2 - 1:46pm, Run 3 - 2:17pm, Finals - 2:50pm)


 There are no men representing New Zealand in the BMX Racing

Track Cycling

New Zealand Track Cyclists will contest six different track cycling events - the Sprint, Keirin, Madison, Team Sprint, Team Pursuit, and Omnium at the Tokyo Olympic Games. 

All Track Cycling events will be held at the Izu Velodrome, 120km southwest of Tokyo in Izu City, Shizuoka Prefecture. 

The eighteen strong team comprises several Olympic Debuts, current Men's Points Race World Champion Corbin Strong and four athletes contesting their third Olympic Games.

The athletes are:


Bryony Botha – Team Pursuit, Madison (reserve)
Rushlee Buchanan – Team Pursuit, Madison
Holly Edmondston – Team Pursuit, Omnium
Jessie Hodges – Madison, Omnium (reserve), Team Pursuit (reserve)
Kirstie James – Team Pursuit, Sprint (TBC)
Jaime Nielsen – Team Pursuit

Ellesse Andrews – Keirin, Sprint


Aaron Gate – Team Pursuit, Madison (TBC), Omnium
Regan Gough – Team Pursuit
Jordan Kerby – Team Pursuit
Campbell Stewart – Team Pursuit, Madison (TBC), Omnium
Corbin Strong – Team Pursuit, Madison (TBC), Omnium

Sam Dakin – Team Sprint, Keirin
Ethan Mitchell – Team Sprint, Sprint
Sam Webster – Team Sprint, Sprint, Keirin

Callum Saunders (sprint) and Nick Kergozou (endurance) have been selected as travelling reserves.

Key Dates:

Monday 2 August

Women's Team Pursuit Qualifying 6:54pm NZST

Men's Team Pursuit Qualifying 8:02pm NZST

Tuesday 3 August

Women's Team Pursuit First Round Heat 1 - 4 6:30pm - 6:51pm NZST

Men's Team Sprint Qualifying 6:58pm NZST

Men's Team Pursuit First Round Heat 1 - 4 7:22pm - 7:43pm  NZST

Men's Team Sprint First Round Heat 1 - 4 Tuesday 3 August 7:50pm - 7:59pm  NZST

Wednesday 4 August

Men's Sprint Qualifying 6:30pm NZST

Women's Keirin First Round Heat 1 - 5 6:30pm - 7:30pm NZST

Men's Sprint 1/32 Finals Heat 1 - 12 7:35pm - 8:08pm NZST

Thursday 5 August

Men's Omnium Scratch Race 6:30pm - 8:55pm NZST

Friday 6 August

Women's Sprint Qualifying 6:30pm NZST

Women's Sprint 1/32 Finals Heat 1 - 12 7:16pm - 7:49pm NZST

Women's Madison Final 8:10pm NZST

Saturday 7 August

Men's Keirin First Round Heat 1 - 5 6:48pm - 7:08pm NZST

Men's Madison Final 7:51pm NZST

Sunday 8 August

Women's Omnium 1:00pm - 3:25pm NZST

Women's Sprint (Semi-finals and Finals) 1:18pm NZST

Men's Keirin (Quarter finals, semi-finals and finals) 1:24pm onwards NZST