{{{content.relatedImages.data | image}}}

Based at the Toi-Ohomai Institute of Technology campus in Rotorua, the MTB National Performance Hub offers access to a range of high quality training and sports science facilities, as well as world class mountain bike trails - a premium training environment.
Led by experienced MTB rider and coach, Sam Thompson, the MTB National Performance Hub will provide training and development for both XCO and DH riders.
Riders Training and Development
Coaches Sponsors
MTB Hub in the news Gallery



Generally, participation in National Performance Hubs programmes and camps will be by invitation direct to riders. If you would like to nominate riders to be considered for invitation, email performancehubs@cyclingnewzealand.nz
The riders confirmed for the 2018 season can be found here.

Training and Development

MTB Development Camps will take place 6-8 times per year.
Riders are required to provide their own bike, helmet and riding gear. Accommodation and meals will be provided, and the majority of costs for training facilities and camp activities will be subsidised, however there will be a small fee for riders.
For more information email performancehubs@cyclingnewzealand.nz


Hub riders will be supported by a team of experienced Mountain Bike coaches, led by Sam Thompson.

"Some of my proudest moments in mountain biking are seeing my athletes achieve what they didn't think was possible, whether that be national championships, or representing their country at the highest level. What drives me as a coach is the opportunity to make a positive change in the sport of Mountain Biking in New Zealand and the athletes involved".
Originally from Dunedin, Sam studied at the Sports Institute of Otago and went on to run his own business as an endurance coach and gym owner/trainer in Queenstown for six years. More recently, Sam has been working for Waiariki Polytechnic as Head Strength and Conditioning trainer and coach.
Fore more information on coaching opportunities email

Jemma Manchester training with Sam in Andorra in 2015  |  Sam Gaze at the 2016 U23 World Champs


The programmes and development opportunities on offer through the MTB National Performance Hub are made possible with the generous support of our sponsors:

Toi-Ohomai Institute of Technology are the official tertiary education partner of the MTB National Performance Hub
Other supporters:





Subway New Zealand is the Regional Performance Hub programme's national sponsor.


In the News

Check out the release on the launch of the MTB National Performance Hub here