{{{content.relatedImages.data | image}}}

Led by coach Tim Carswell, this performance hub provides training and development for Road and Track riders from the Waikato and Bay of Plenty regions.
Based at the world-class Avantidrome in Cambridge, the Grassroots Trust Waikato Bay of Plenty Performance Hub riders have access to leading training and track facilities, surrounded by High Performance Sports and associated support services.


Click here to view the profiles of our 2018/2019 hub riders.


Hub riders will be supported by an experienced coaching team who will be based locally and will be led by Tim Carswell. Tim has strong cycling pedigree, having competed for New Zealand at both Olympic and Commonwealth Games level, where he won two bronze medals in Kuala Lumpur in 1998.
Since then, he has coached New Zealand teams at three Olympic Games, and multiple Commonwealth Games and World Championships, guiding riders to 19 World Championship medals as well as three medals at the Beijing and London Olympics. Other career highlights include guiding the men's team pursuit first to under the four minute barrier in 2008, and taking the New Zealand men's team pursuit to its first world title in 2015.
“Stepping back into a full-time coaching role with the Grassroots Trust Hub Programme for Cycling New Zealand offers a new challenge. We have some outstanding riders in the programme already and some very talented young cyclists coming through, so I am sure there will be more great results to come in the future.  The depth of our Hub riders is evident in the fact we were able to register two development trade team to ride at the January 2019 Tissot UCI Track World Cup held in Cambridge.” - Tim Carswell

Training and Development

The Grassroots Trust Waikato Bay of Plenty Performance Hub squad trains weekly at the Avantidrome and the Hub will run scheduled development camps for wider groups of riders throughout the year. 


George Jackson, Finn Fisher-Black
2018 UCI Junior Track World Championships
World Champions – 1st Men’s Team Pursuit
Ellesse Andrews
2017 UCI Junior Track World Championships
World Champion - 1st Women’s Individual Pursuit
Ellesse Andrews
2016 UCI Junior Track World Championships
World Champions - 1st Women’s Team Sprint
Jared Gray
2016 UCI Junior Track World Championships
World Champion – 1st Men’s Team Pursuit
  • George Jackson, Jarred Treymane – Cambridge 2019 – Team Pursuit (9th)
  • George Jackson, Jarred Treymane – Hong Kong 2019 – Team Pursuit (13th)
  • Sam Dakin – Cambridge 2019 – Team Sprint (9th), Keirin (11th)
  • Tahlay Christie – Cambridge 2019 – Team Sprint (4th)
  • Tahlay Christie – Hong Kong 2019 – Team Sprint (13th)
  • Jared Gray – 2016 - Individual Pursuit (10th)
  • Ellesse Andrews – 2016 – 500m time trial (5th), Individual Pursuit (3rd), Keirin (13th)
  • Ellesse Andrews – 2017 – Keirin (5th), Team Pursuit (2nd)
  • Jackson Ogle – 2017 – 1km Time Trial (3rd)
  • Ally Wollaston, Mckenzie Milne – 2018 – Women’s Team Pursuit (2nd)
  • Finn Fisher-Black – 2018 – Individual Pursuit (4th)
  • Thomas Garbett – 2018 – 1km Time Trial (17th), Sprint (15th), Keirin (9th)
  • Jarred Treymane – 2018 – 1km Time Trial (16th), Individual Pursuit (20th)
  • McKenzie Milne – 2018 - Individual Pursuit (10th)
  • Kiaan Watts – 2018 – Scratch Race (18th)
  • Ally Wollaston – 2018 – Junior Individual Pursuit
  • Ally Wollaston – 2018 – Junior Points Race 
  • Finn Fisher-Black – 2018 – Junior Scratch Race 
  • George Jackson – 2018 – Junior Points Race 
  • George Jackson – 2018 – Junior Madison 
  • McKenzie Milne – 2018 - Junior Scratch Race 
  • McKenzie Milne – 2018 – Junior Madison 
  • McKenzie Milne, Eva Parkinson, Ally Wollaston – 2018 – Junior Team Pursuit 
  • Finn Fisher-Black - Junior Men’s Individual Pursuit, 3:09.710, World Record 


The programmes and development opportunities on offer through the Waikato Bay of Plenty Performance Hub are made possible through the generous support of the following sponsors and philanthropists.